Learn more about the history of the Linux Foundation

The Linux Foundation is a non-profit consortium founded on 21 January 2007 as the result of a merger between the Open Source Development Labs and the Free Standards Group.

The Linux Foundation’s mission is to protect and standardise Linux by providing the centralised resources and services needed to compete effectively with other operating systems.

The Linux Foundation has 70 members including AMD, Fujitsu, HP, Hitachi, Intel, IBM, LG Group, Microsoft, NEC, Novell, Oracle, Orange, Samsung, Twitter, Valve, Yahoo! and others. The organisation is led by Jim Zemlin, a former director of the FSG, who keeps key developers in place, including Linus Torvalds, who is sponsored by the foundation1.

Among the directors proposed by its members is Mark Shuttleworth, founder of the Ubuntu project. Source Wiki

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *